A new start

Looking back I think it’s fair to say that I haven’t really seen this as a blog, more of an online presence.  However recent developments in the voluntary sector/volunteering world have been causing me great concern. I don’t really have a say in anything, so all that’s left for me is to at least speak out, even if it is to no one in particular.

So I’ll be blogging more regularly on issues related to volunteering and the big society over the coming weeks and months. I think the posts are likely to be opinionated, forceful, even angry at times, but won’t apologise for this – I think we need a bit more passion in the debate over the future of volunteering and the voluntary sector.

I should be clear that my criticisms of the big society are not party political. I had strong criticisms of many volunteering related proposals under the Labour government (for most of this time I was employed by Volunteering England, so had to temper my views in public), and indeed I do not support any political party, major or minor.

One response to “A new start

  1. Good stuff Mark. I’m looking forward to reading what you have to say.

Leave a Reply

